MGEITF Channel of the Year Awards 2012 | News | Sherlockology Sherlockabilia Shop Now Open

MGEITF Channel of the Year Awards 2012 * 24 August 2012

MGEITF Channel of the Year Awards 2012

The MediaGuardian Edinburgh International Television Festival reveals the winners of the annual Channel of the Year Awards, hosted by comedian Jason Byrne.

It was a star-studded ceremony attended by festival delegates and TV stars including Victoria Wood, Andrew Scott, Konnie Huq, Rhys Darby, and Britain's Got Talent  winners Ashleigh and Pudsey, at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre on 24th August 2012.

For the second year running, Terrestrial Programme of the Year went to BBC One's Sherlock, marking a winning streak of five years for the channel's programming in the category. It was double success for the show, which was also voted The Network and Ones To Watch Programme Choice Award.

Now in its 11th consecutive year, the Channel of the Year Awards is in recognition of the increasingly competitive and often challenging market that today's TV companies operate in, and to celebrate the creative, innovative and commercial solutions that both channels and production companies present.